Tags

, , , , , , ,

Ottawa

Parliament Hill

 

I’ve now settled in my new home for the next 12 months (well 8 months now) and I thought it was about time to start a journal on my experience here in government land, Ottawa.

I regret not starting this earlier when I arrived here back in May, I was meaning to, but somewhere in the midst of settling down in my apartment, figuring out how to live on my own, and my endless laziness, it didn’t happen. I hope this is a change for the better!

After living in the Lower Mainland (Vancouver are) for 16 years, I honestly couldn’t be more thrilled to get it out! I wanted to explore, meet new people, learn new things, and find a new perspective.

When the opportunity came for me to accept an internship in Ottawa, I jumped on it! I was so excited that I accepted it without going over it with my family first – hehe. Fortunately, my parents were happy for me and were content with the idea of me taking this opportunity to finally live my life and to actually see and feel what it’s like to be “on your own”. You know, no mom to make your bed, cook for you, clean your dishes, do your laundry…wait, did I just make a big mistake? Maybe I should’ve stayed…No, come on Sirous, fight the laziness! Yes I am a momma’s boy, you may laugh at me for it, but I am damn proud of it! Can you name a better woman to learn from than your mother? She doesn’t have to say anything, you can take a lot away just from her actions and the way she carries herself.

I’m getting all mushy aren’t I? Anyways, I just wanted to get things started with this blog, hopefully, I can keep it up and document my stay here for the next little while!